Select Page

WFL Hawaiians

The Hawaiians, WFL; World Football League

Hawai’i Professional Football

The World Football League (WFL) was a American football league which only lasted a season in a half, playing in 1974 and part of 1975. The league folded midway through its second season. Although short-lived, the league did produce several star players who played in the NFL.

In it’s existence, the league featured about 15 to 18 teams, most struggling, changing names and moving from city to city. Only three teams were able survive the league’s existence with out moving cities or changing names. One of them was – The Hawaiians.

Based in Honolulu, the franchise was originally going to be named the Honolulu Warriors, but the name was already trademarked by a local sports team. As a result, the WFL team was known simply as “The Hawaiians”. Press members and fans alike, made the frequent mistake of calling the team the Honolulu Hawaiians or the Hawaii Hawaiians. Although the official team name is “the HAWAIIANS”.

The Hawaiians called the 25,000 seat “Termite Bowl” – Honolulu Stadium home in 1974. In 1975 they moved to the new 50,000 seat state-of-the-art Aloha Stadium.

Official team colors were Red, Gold & Brown. Team logo featured a red and gold koa; Hawaiian warrior profile.

The Hawaiians were owned by Christopher Hemmeter for the first season. Hemmeter took over league operations becoming league president in 1975, and sold the team to Edward Sultan. Mike Giddings served as head coach for both seasons.

The best known player for the Hawaiians was running back Calvin Hill, who went on to play for the Dallas Cowboys. Jim Fassel was a quarterback for the Hawaiians. He’s better known for being a head coach for the University of Utah, New York Giants and Las Vegas Locomotives of the UFL.

On The 9
The Moi Show
Johnie Tidwell Media
Island Emory Travel

Pin It on Pinterest